Augmented reality, 3D style

The concept of a 3D augmented reality compared to traditional organization is a gigantic step. Watching Kelichi Matsuda’s video clips was a mix between amazing and disturbing.  There are those who fear new things, fear the change and transition because they might be the ones who are left behind and can’t pick it up.  I am weary for another reason.

Our sense of reality, what is tangible, what is touchable and true will blur with digital. With 3D we can carry everything we possibly could ever want at our fingers. This will completely redefine our world. A 3D augmented reality isn’t necessarily a bad thing. It has great potential to enhance our real world experiences. It has the ability find those who are kidnapped or injured more quickly. It also has the ability to create strong social networks because we are literally impressive in the digital world. What I am afraid of it that we will be robots, so dependent on the 3D technology because we can carry it everywhere.  I’m all for giving a 3D augmented reality a try. I just don’t want our society to become consumed and turn into drones, unable to do anything for ourselves.

Plus if I had to listen to that beep, beep every time I touched a button or someone else did, I wouldn’t be a happy camper.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment